About Me

Welcome to Happenings of the Harper Household!  On our blog you will find a great variety of posts including product reviews, giveaways, craft tutorials, recipes, updates on our family, travel and lots more.  We live in Ohio so we tend to share lots of activities, entertainment, and travel destinations around the area.  As a family we are making steps to live a greener more natural life style.

And now for a little bit about each member of our family….

DanielleCollage

Let’s start of with me – Danielle, but you can call me Mama Harper.  I’m 29 years old and absolutely loving life as a wife and mommy.  I’m a stay at home mom and am very grateful to be able to watch my girls grow up and not miss a single milestone.  I am also very thankful for my blog because it enables me to stay home providing for our family both monetarily and with lots of fun opportunities.  I choose to breastfeed, baby wear, co-sleep, and cloth diaper but respect everyone’s parenting decisions.  I am on a bowling league, enjoy geocaching, hiking, swimming, and absolutely adore squirrels.

DustinCollage

That’s the hubby – Dustin.  He’s about 2 and half years older than me.  We met in August of 2006 on a blind date.  Got our first apartment together in October of 2006.  And got married on June 1st 2007 in a small ceremony with only our siblings, parents, and best friends present.  We had a formal reception in November of 2007.  Yup, we moved pretty fast… but when you meet the right person you just know.  Dustin is a hard working husband and daddy.  When we first met he was working on cell phone towers  traveling most of the time – climbing, building, and repairing them which made me a nervous for his safety… especially once our little ones entered the picture.  He now works at the Timken Company in the shipping department on swing shift, but at least he comes home every day.  Dustin enjoys golfing, bowling, playing xbox 360, and being sarcastic.  He also volunteers in the sound booth at our church.

AlleighCollage

My oldest – Alleigh Jade.  We found out I was pregnant with this gorgeous little girl at the very beginning of September 2007 just a few months after we had gotten married and after only one month of trying.  Alleigh was born on April 30th 2008 and after a very uneventful pregnancy she made quite the entrance into the world.  I truly can not believe that she is already 6 years old and in first grade.  This little munchkin is absolutely brilliant and doing amazingly well in school excelling in every subject area and has made lots of friends.  She is very crafty and loves making bracelets on her rainbow loom.  Alleigh loves flamingos, the color pink, vanilla, and likes to watch Sponge Bob.

KaelynCollage

The second oldest child – Kaelyn Mae.  After trying for about 6 months to get pregnant I saw those two little pink lines on the morning of September 5th 2009 – Dustin’s birthday!  With this pregnancy I had gestational diabetes, but managed it well with diet and exercise.  She was born on April 30th 2010 with a smooth delivery.  Does the date look familiar?  It should because Kaelyn Mae arrived on the exact same day as her big sister.  It was a very surreal experience to say the least.  Kaelyn is now 4 years old and is quite the spunky mischievous little girl.  She recently began attending pre-kindergarten and absolutely loves her teacher.  She also likes to play dress up and watch Disney movies especially The Princess & The Frog, Tangled, and Brave.  Kaelyn loves giraffes, the color purple, chocolate, and likes to watch Team Umizoomi.

WillowCollage

The toddler of the family – Willow Jean.  After trying for over 6 months to get pregnant we decided to give the Ovacue Fertility Monitor a try and it worked the first time – yup, that product got a very good review!  After a rather uneventful and sweltering hot summer pregnancy Willow was born August 18th 2012 via an emergency c-section.  Just like her sisters she was born with a head full of hair and never lost any.  She is a super active toddler and just adores her sisters.  She was a late walker at about 16 months old, but makes up for it now by getting into anything and everything she can possibly find.  Some of Willow’s favorite things include her AppleCheeks cloth diapers, Fisher-Price Klip-Klop Castle, bath time, and dinosaurs.  Her current favorite movie is Jurassic Park… and she’s only 2 years old.

LilahCollage

And coming in November we will be welcoming our fourth daughter into the world.  For now we’re simply calling her Baby Harper #4 here on the blog, but she already has a name… just keeping it a secret til she arrives, hehe.  All of the girls are very excited to have a new sibling and spend lots of time hugging on my belly and talking about who she will look like.  I’ve been having lots of fun stocking up on AppleCheeks and bamboo inserts for this lil one.  And I’m also very hopeful I will get the VBAC that I so desperately want.

Hopefully now you feel like you know a little bit more about us!

Thanks for reading!

7 Responses to About Me

  1. Ewa says:

    Hi there!

    Stumbled on your blog via Instagram. Amazing how similar our lives are! I got married August 2007. I’m a part time maternity RN at a hospital in Portland. Started trying for a baby around our 1-year anniversary and had my first girl March 2010. Second girl June 2011, third girl May 2013. Also baby wear and cloth diaper. Looking forward to following your posts!!

  2. Jessica says:

    Hi Mama Harper,
    I happened across your Instagram page today after I tried to use the hash tag “#AlleighJade”. That is my daughter’s name also! As you can imagine, I was pretty surprised to find another Alleigh with that spelling AND have the same middle name, too. To add the the coincidence, my Alleigh is also six, born in June 2008.
    Anyway, we are from Washington state just about 25 minutes north of Seattle. I am the supervisor at our local independent book store (so we are big readersI!), my husband is a personal trainer in Seattle, and we also have an almost two year old son, Mason.
    I was thinking it might be fun for our daughters to be pen pals in some capacity. It might be a fun way to work on writing skills and correspondence.
    Please feel free to email me and let me know what you think!
    Jessica

  3. Hi there, You have done a great job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

  4. solin says:

    Dear Danielle,
    Have a nice day!
    This is Solin from Hollee Fashional Co.,ltd in China.
    I am a mother for one girl of 3 years old ,we can produce muslin square with best price and competitive price,if you need,pls contact us.
    Thanks
    Solin

  5. Brandi says:

    I was wondering if you happen to be ready to sell your astral mamas and Papas bouncer? I can’t seem to find it anywhere. Thank you so much

  6. Some genuinely prize posts on this web site , bookmarked .

  7. Chad C says:

    Enjoy your blog. You have a wonderful family. We enjoy your posts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *